Dear John

I went to see “Dear John” Tuesday, February 9, 2010.
I was expecting it to be similar to “Brothers“.

(Quick note. I did not read the novel of the same name by Nicholas Sparks. I’m only reviewing this film as is. I’m not judging this movie against the book from which it was adapted.)

The movie appears on the surface to be a classic tale of military guy meets a girl, they fall in love, military guy goes abroad, girl cheats on his with him with a close friend/relative. However, I found the film to be a lot more complex than that.

A note to women who go to movies and make “aww” and “how cute” noises during the airing. Shut up! Thank you.
I didn’t come to listen to your patronizing sounds and I don’t need your commentary. When I go to a movie, I try to stay silent. I don’t talk about the plot and I don’t gasp or coo. I try not to laugh. I just sit, watch, and try to soak it all in.

There were a number of “cute” moments in this film that made the (predominantly) female audience lose their minds. There is one time in particular, when many of the females around me started saying “how cute” about an elderly gentleman, that I felt my anger rising.

The ending of the film is interesting. The audience around me smacked their hands and laps in frustration. A lady next to me asked loudly, “Is that it? Is there going to be a sequel?” The ending did seem a bit rushed, but it didn’t shock me. I was expecting it to end the way it did, but perhaps with a longer explanation.

Overall, I would recommend this film to people who like dramas. I give is a 6 out of 10.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Dear John”

  1. shira Says:

    Hate it when people can’t keep their pie-hole shut…..

Leave a Reply

