Greenberg

I went to see “Greenberg” Tuesday, April 13, 2010.
From the previews it looked like a film about a down-on-his-luck guy. I wanted to see what steps he took to get out of his funk. I hoped that there might be something in his experience that I could apply to my own.
Maybe you aren’t supposed to go to movies hoping to learn something. Maybe you are supposed to go to movies to be entertained and see a story unfold. Maybe.

What I expected and what I got were very different.
Roger Greenberg isn’t your typical loser. Roger suffers from severe guilt over a decision he made in college that messed up at least three lives. Roger recently got out of a mental institution after suffering a breakdown to the extent that his feet stopped working temporarily. Roger has OCD issues, is a germaphobe, and an inability to filter his words.
In short, I could not identify with Roger.

I kept hoping that the film would show Roger’s development. I understood there isn’t enough time to see him be rehabilitated, but I was hoping for some kind of resolution.
As far as I could see, there was none.

I don’t know why this film was recorded or distributed. However, Ben Stiller plays a very good out of control Roger.

I rate this film a 2 out of 10. Maybe if I had come in with different expectations I could have enjoyed this film more. The same might be true for you.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Greenberg”

  1. Wicked Shawn Says:

    Maybe I will skip this one. Actually, I will definitely skip this one. 😉

  2. s(b.) Says:

    some stuff of DVD you may not have seen:
    One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest
    Girl, Interrupted
    Dead Poets Society
    The Karate Kid (the original)
    Freedom Writers
    Remember the Titans
    Patch Adams

Leave a Reply

