Laundry

I was running low on clean clothes, so I packed all my dress shirts and most of my clothes.
I took my laundry to a cleaning shop on Sunday April 18. I’ve gone there before, so I dropped it off with confidence that it would be washed, dried, folded (aside from the socks, which I have to emphasize each time that I don’t want them folded or rolled) and ready for pickup by Monday evening.
I retrieved my clothing Monday April 19 without incident.
When I was unpacking my clothing and putting them away on Wednesday morning (April 21), I was surprised to find someone else’s underwear mixed in with my own. I put them aside to return to the cleaning shop.
I was not surprised to find that a super majority of my dress shirts were missing.
I went to the cleaning shop on the way to work. I returned the other guy’s clothing and asked for my shirts. The worker wasn’t able to understand me, so I wrote a short note to the owner of the shop.
In the evening the owner called. He assured me that the mistake of getting someone else’s clothes was a simple mistake. Someone had left their clothing, unclaimed, and they thought it was mine. However, he insisted, it’s impossible that your shirts are missing. He suggested I check my inventory again and make a better assessment. If, I still cannot reckon it satisfactorily I should call again.
I recounted the shirts they returned. 1, 2, and 3. Far fewer than the 10+ shirts I dropped off.

I’m not really sure what I should do. I cannot prove the error. I’m not looking for restitution. I just want them to make a note of it, so that when my shirts are returned, the shop will be able to pass them back to me. However, there’s a language gap and I don’t think they fully understand what I’m saying to them.

I guess I need to find a new cleaning shop as well. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Tags:

12 Responses to “Laundry”

  1. wonderingchicka Says:

    That sucks! I would bitch and moan and make sure I was reimbursed at least partially. 7+ missing shirts is no joke! They understand English enough to take your money- so I’m sure they understand enough to give you money. I love how when a customer has a problem, all the sudden, no one can speak English!

    …and this is one of the many reasons why I do my own laundry…

    • alarbean Says:

      I’m not looking for reimbursement or retribution. They probably gave it to someone else accidentally. Mistakes happen. It wouldn’t bother me at all if I had enough shirts to cover the gap.

      Haha, good point about their sudden understanding of English!

      I could do my own laundry, but then I’d have to buy supplies and make a day of it. Although, it is a good place to meet people.

  2. wonderingchicka Says:

    also, you can weigh the bag to show them that it weighs less. though really, it would have been ideal to do that before you left the place. Still, if you can go back, act angry, and show that the weight is different, you might get some money to buy some new shirts… but I wonder… can you act angry?

    • alarbean Says:

      I thought of going back and weighing the bag, but I discounted it for two reasons.
      1. I could never prove that i didn’t remove some clothes that they returned.
      2. The measurement on the bag is approximate – it’s just used to establish the price of cleaning. I know that the guy rounded the weight up on the receipt.

      I can act angry, but usually when I do, I am. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Wicked Shawn Says:

    I don’t really understand why this stuff wasn’t listed on the receipt, I meant to ask you. When I drop off my stuff, it always has a list of items, then when I pick it up we do a quick run through of the items I am picking up. You, my doll, need to be a little more forceful. By little, I mean, a lot. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • alarbean Says:

      I know at dry cleaners they evaluate each piece separately. I never thought of listing that i’m dropping off 40+ socks, 20+ undershirts, 10+ shirts, etc.
      I figured they’d just wash and keep things together. I didn’t really expect clothing to go missing.

      LOL @ your last two sentences.

      I intend to speak to the owner tonight. I hope that he’ll understand me.

  4. musingmom Says:

    You are awfully calm about this…good luck with getting your shirts back…maybe take an interpretor or google translate…

    • alarbean Says:

      Thanks. I just don’t feel angry or upset. I’m more bemused than anything else. If I were angry, I’d have a harder time remaining calm.

      An interpretor! I’m not sure what his first language is. I guess I can ask?

  5. s(b.) Says:

    maybe it’s time to sew/iron-on name tapes in the collars of your shirts. and maybe your other clothes, too.

    • alarbean Says:

      I hope I don’t need to resort to that. Those tags always bothered me (when I had them) as an elementary student.

      I guess I’ll just have to dedicate time to washing my clothes myself or put up with these kinds of mistakes.

  6. angel Says:

    AWWW ALAR.. u have such a sweet face.. they took one look at you and said, “profit” i feel soooo bad.. go back in there with a really tough looking dude or some rich man who can afford to lose shirts.. in any language.. the same dorks that gave u someone else’s underwear, stole ur shirts… and or some un-honest dude is one underwear less and wearing ur shirts..i think you should go back.. this way perhaps they wouldnt do it to the next guy.. i am so mad! i feel like dressing up as the joker and smoking them out with smelly dry cleaning soap! next time make a list.. here is twelve pairs of unrolled socks.. give them back un rolled.. dork.. here is ten shirts give me back ten plus the ten u stole .. here is ten undershirts.. dork dork dork..

  7. wonderingchicka Says:

    As an aside, I wonder about your thoughts and feelings surrounding anger. What is your definition of anger? What was your experience of anger as a child and as you were growing up? What were your experiences of anger as an adult? How do you experience your own anger? How do you experience other people’s anger? What other feelings does it bring up for you? Are you afraid of it? Does it symbolize a lack of control to you? Something else?

    I don’t want answers by the way ๐Ÿ™‚ I just thought it might be something helpful for you to think about because of my own experience. I have my own issues surrounding anger and I know that understanding them has helped me a lot.

Leave a Reply

