The Stylelife Challenge

A few months ago my brother didn’t (not a typo) suggest that I read “The Game” by Neil Strauss.
I spent some time trying to get a copy and, finally, about a month ago, I started reading it. I immediately saw why my brother didn’t suggest it to me. But, I also saw that it had a lot of tips that I immediately put to use.
However, “The Game” is a story. A compelling story, to be sure, but it isn’t really a self-help book and it doesn’t provide enough detail to step people through the transformation process.
I went looking for other books by Neil Strauss and I got my hands on his book “The Stylelife Challenge”.
It is a self-help book. It is supposed to transform sideline people into life-of-the-party people. So far each day has 3 or 4 missions. Some are self-analytic exercises, some are reading, and some require social interaction with other humans.
I went to the stylelife challenge website and took their analysis challenge.
These were my results*:

[* – When I first took the test, I didn’t go through all the test pages immediately. I did the first couple before getting called away to do my job. When I returned, I completed the exam. I think answers from the first pages “timed-out”, leading to my grade. I re-took the exam (using the same answers). The percentages that follow are from that second submission.]

“The Mating Success Indicator (MSI) compares your love live successes to other men of similar age, lifestyle and relationship situation. (50% is average.)

“Mating Success Indicator: 33%

“The Attraction Expert Level (AEL) reflects your level of experience and expertise in the area of attraction compared to other men. (50% is average.)

“Attraction Expert Level: 39%

“Lifestyle Type: The Observer Guy

“Description:
“It’s possible that you have tremendous knowledge, gained through the analysis of books, movies, games, and scientific research. You probably know far more than men who are more successful with women, but you can’t seem to find opportunities to display your intellect and talent. One of your major obstacles is your inability to take action, which prevents you from accomplishing your social goals.
You can occasionally be found at the back of a social event clutching your drink and perhaps looking busy. You sometimes feel afraid to get out on the dance floor, or even to speak to strangers. You may watch your friends cavort on tables or drink body shots with women while you quietly nurse your drink. Often, you find yourself standing on the sidelines watching others have all the fun.
Maybe there are times when you can’t even muster the courage to get out of the house just for the opportunity to meet that special someone. You are generally considered shy. Fear of rejection and validation keep you in your invisible Plexiglas box. You have a strong desire to be liked and accepted by others, but you have a tendency to not put your self on the line, thus closing your self off to the very thing you so desperately seek.
“There you are, sitting on a park bench as life passes you by. Your mind races constantly measuring the temperature of the situation to see if it’s OK yet to dive in and take a social swim. “Meanwhile, as you are sitting there, at least a dozen beautiful opportunities pass you by. At least you get to admire their backsides. As Grace Hopper said, ‘A ship in port is safe, but that’s not what ships are built for.’ Time to start living your life to the fullest.”

Ouch.

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Tags: ,

4 Responses to “The Stylelife Challenge”

  1. Wicked Shawn Says:

    Hmmm….I seem to recall a conversation where I told you that it was important for you to start approaching people, become more engaging and simply speak to them more often. Should I write a self help book? Is that what you are saying? Also, seriously, SERIOUSLY DESPISE these GAME books. Especially find the Game blogs distasteful.

    • alarbean Says:

      Many people suggest approaching people, but that’s not enough information for people to change their social behavior.
      If your book would contain more than just the suggestion to approach people and become more engaging, definitely!

      Why do you despise books that help people learn social skills?

      What do you mean by Game blogs? Do you mean this blog post?

  2. Wicked Shawn Says:

    No, this post is completely unrelated to the blogs the likes of which I am speaking. I am talking about true Game blogs, such as the one Roissy writes. Roissydc.com or something like that. He and I had a bit of a spat, so to speak, back ages ago, possibly because I called him a mysoginistic Neanderthal. He may have also been offended because I insinuated that he was really just a scared, geeky momma’s boy sitting in a basement somewhere counting blog hits all day and night. Meh, difference is, he kept pushing it, I had things to do in the real world. 🙂

    You, my dear friend, have a wonderful heart and a great adventurous spirit. People deserve a chance to see it, you should share it with them more!

    • alarbean Says:

      I’d not heard of his(?) blog prior to your comment. I went searching for it, but it was blocked by my fire-wall. I’ll have to try again later.
      The danger of becoming a misogynist is addressed in “The Game”. However, since my goal isn’t to become a womanizer, I don’t think I have to fear that possible side-effect.
      I agree with moving on when the fighting has reached an impasse.
      Thanks for your kind words. 🙂

      (Believe me, I’m trying to share it with them more!)

Leave a Reply

