Jewish Social Media Shmooze

Last night I attended the Jewish Social Media Shmooze, a tweetup/symposium organized by MetroImma.

Most past events were scheduled for weekends that I had the children. Sometimes they had weeknight events, but I didn’t have (enough/any) time to prepare. So, when I saw a notice from JewishTweets for this tweetup, I decided to give it a try. I was pleasantly surprised to discover that they were not charging people to attend.

Most of the people were friendly and social and I got to tweetup (twitter.com meet up) with a bunch of nice people.

The panelists, hsabomilner, jodisview, kenkrim, and kvetchingeditor were all highly knowledgeable about their craft. The moderator, critiques4geeks, started off by citing the 80/20 rule.

At first I thought she was highlighting that the room was mostly made up of women. However, as it turned out, she meant that 80% of social media content is made up by 20% of the population. (I don’t know if I agree with this rule.)

The panel discussion went well. There were a few things said that I disagreed with, but nothing critical.
To the moderator’s credit the discussion wasn’t too structured or unstructured. When an audience member asked about creating a seasonal twitter advertising campaign, other members of the audience felt comfortable in being recognized by the moderator and offering their own advice to the gentleman. However, the moderator didn’t allow the discussion to fall into chaos.

After the panelist discussion, the organizers raffled off a lot of prizes, including three raffles for a signed copy of “Kvetch as Kvetch Can“, a book of humorous cartoons by Ken Krimstein. After the raffle I spoke with Ken Krimstein. I told him that I was really hoping to win a copy of his book. He told me it’s better this way, because now I can buy a copy. I told him that I wish I could, but I’m Jewish.

I won the raffle for two tickets to the Poppy Seed Players: Latkes & Applesauce play. I’m not really sure how I get the tickets from the organizers or what I should do with them.

The Jewish Social Media Shmooze was sponsored by Bagels & Co., Diaper Buds, Exhale, JDeal, Kosher.com, Kosher Advantage, Kosher by Design, Kosher Inspired, Kvetch as Kvetch Can, Manischewitz, metroimma, Shmira Wear, and Shutterfly.

Overall I had a good time. I rate the shmooze in the 8 out of 10 range. I highly recommend they have future events (and that they invite me with enough time for me to clear my schedule).

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Tags:

2 Responses to “Jewish Social Media Shmooze”

  1. Chaviva Galatz Says:

    Nice summary. I think I’m just going to post your review and Hadassah’s … because … I’m lazy and you guys did an awesome job. It was great to meet you at last, too!

Leave a Reply

