Sage advice from Tom Lehrer

Some sage advice from Tom Lehrer:

I know some people feel that marriage as an institution is dying out, but I disagree and the point was driven home to me rather forcefully not long ago by a letter I received which said: “Darling, I love you and I cannot live without you. Marry me, or I will kill myself.” Well, I was a little disturbed at that until I took another look at the envelope and saw that it was addressed to occupant. Speaking of love, one problem that recurs more and more frequently these days in books,and plays,and movies on, is the inability of people to communicate with the people they love. Husbands and wives who can’t communicate; children who can’t communicate with their parents, and so on. And the characters in these books, and plays, and so on, and in real life, I might add, spend hours bemoaning the fact that they can’t communicate. I feel that if a person can’t communicate the very least he can do is to shut up. – Tom Lehrer (That Was the Year That Was)

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Sage advice from Tom Lehrer”

  1. chaynobody Says:

    I assume you know his classic line – “and everybody hates the Jews”… Very fitting for the Purim spirit… Lol

Leave a Reply

