Welcome

Welcome aboard.

It’s hard to define who I am. It might be easier to define who I’m not.
I’m not a writer.
I’m not good at spelling.
I’m not religious.
I’m not a believer in god. Any god. Not even YOUR god. Sorry!
I’m not sexy.
I’m not smart.
I’m not funny.
I’m not a good singer.
I’m not cool, calm, or collected.
I’m not going to have anything interesting to say.

Okay, so now that everyone is gone, I’ll give you the basic rundown on who I was.
I was born into an Ultra Orthodox Jewish family. When I was born I was the fourth child born to two parents. By the time my parents completed their career as birthers, an additional eleven siblings joined the clan.

I started attending Yeshiva (Religious Jewish School) when I was three and a half). I went to Yeshiva without a break until I was twenty-four and married.

In September 2009 my wife and I separated.
In March 2010 we got our religious divorce.
She remains religious.

This is what I do:
I work as a computer programmer. In July 2008 or so I was tasked with overseeing the work and times of some my colleagues.
I “sing” karaoke as often as I can. Currently I tend to go to The Old Carriage Inn for Thursday and Saturday night karaoke.
I try to go to one movie a week. ( Clearview in Chelsea and Clearview on 62nd Street are my favorite places to watch movies. If you want to join me on a Tuesday evening, send a tweet to @alarBean .)

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Welcome”

  1. sholom fried Says:

    Long time no see or speak…. I read your blogs and find them interesting. I don’t know if you remember me from Far Rock. I remember you and when I saw your pic, I was like wow.. that guy looks similar to someone I grew up with. I hope all is well with you.

    If you remember who I am, I am Orthodox, I guess the term modern Orthodox would be a “better ” characterization never ultra crazy with anything…. I have one question that always interested me and nobody gives a reasonable answer. How does the belief change from someone who believes in G-d to totally not believing…. I have many friends who grew up observant and no longer give a damn about religion, but they always say something like: I believe that there is a Hashem but just I have no further interest in following Him. From your blogs it seems like you are now an atheist….. what was your for argument sake “aha moment” that said I believed that G-d ran every aspect of my life to I don’t even believe in His existence…

    Also…. where did the name Alar Bean come from??? Is that a real name change or just a nickname?

    • alarbean Says:

      Hi,

      Thanks for reading the blog!

      My beliefs would probably require a lot of time and space.

      The rest of your comment would probably be better discussed through email.

Leave a Reply

